Saturday, January 26, 2008

Why GM Is Tanking Hard...

Way back when, in 2003, I got what was at the time my Dream Car. OK I have pretty fucked up dreams, but I wanted one of these since they came out!
Yup...I bought a 2004 Pontiac Astek!
I bought it as a SmartBuy with no money down and a low monthly payment. I did REALLY well
I brought the Astek From Hell™ home the week before Thanksgiving....and within 2 weeks it was in the shop...
19 times in the first 18 months I owned this thing, it was in the shop. At 20k miles the front right caliper froze solid - the electrical system was shot, the hatch back didn't open, the locks didn't work right and after 3 months the stereo needed to be replaced....
Yes I tried to Lemon Law it, I missed the deadline by 2 days cause my beloved was in the hospital at the time with a life threatening work related injury. GMAC and NJ didn't care....I missed the date - too bad, so sad
So I kept the Astek From Hell™ till I could turn it in in December of 2007.....
this is how that all went down....
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I got letter from GMAC

Apparently they STILL don't have the POA from when I turned my Asstek in 2 months ago. Now I know for sure Flemington GM faxed it over to GMAC, and in December I faxed it to them again, then sent them a hard copy of it too...both of which I have proof of as far as notes goes.
Now they're trying to tell me I have to send them the bill of sale where I SOLD THE CAR hello??? I TURNED IT IN YOU IDIOTS! Your letter even states:
"Dear ******* * ******
You turned in yous SmartBuy Vehicle at Flemington Buick, Chevy...
."
this is the letter THEY SENT ME...opening line in the letter...if I turned the car in then HOW THE HELL DID I SELL IT??
oh and they want the title.

yeah...ok morons. I don't have the title. In NJ, the title on a vehicle with a lien is held by the person that holds the lien NOT the person who borrowed the money.
So I call down to GMAC and start asking questions. I get "Mike" on the phone. My first comment to Mike is:
"Please forgive me if I come across as pissed off and cranky - but I am and it's not your fault and shit rolls down hill and you happen to be on the bottom of a hill the size of Mount Everest here"
his response? "uuuuh....is there something I can help you with?" said very meekly and hesitantly I might add.
No...I'm betting you can't but since GMAC has decided to continue fucking withe me you get to hear about it and we'll work from here....
ready?


This poor guy was on the phone with me for an hour while I asked him to validate the bullshit I was getting from GMAC.
WHY am I being asked for a title? Do you morons not have the title?
well yes Ma'am it says here we have the title...
then WHY THE HELL ARE YOU ASKING ME FOR IT?
uumm...I don't know?
OK can you see where I called on December 14th and spoke to Frank, then Emily, then Jasmine starting at 3:15 in the afternoon EST?
Can you see where I was given a fax number and faxed over the POA as requested while STILL ON THE PHONE with Jasmine the stupidviser who verified that the paper arrived and was in her hand?

uuummm..yes the notes say that.
OK Then WHY THE HELL DO I NEED TO SEND IT AGAIN?
because we don't have it?
How can you not have it, does it not say IN THE PHONE LOGS that Jasmine received the faxed paperwork from me with a signed POA and cover sheet?
yes ma'am it does but we don't have the paper in your file.
And this is my problem how?
Well you're responsible for us getting the papers
HELLO?? I've sent them 3 times, the car dealership sent them once and you're asking me to send them AGAIN even though it says in the notes that you had them and they are what you need?
Yes Ma'am....we have to have the signature on file for legal reasons.
But you had the signature on file - what happened to it?
I don't know Ma'am, I'm sorry.....
* I start making really serious growly noises at this point*

OK...find me someone to talk to so I can get this shit straightened out cause it's not fair that you have to deal with someone else's fuck up, let me talk to finance.

Hold on let me see if I can get someone on the phone
>start Jeopardy theme music here please<
5 minutes....
10 minutes....oooh! I haven't heard this song in a long time....
14 minutes and Mike comes back on the line
OK Ma'am...I have a number for you the dealership can...
wait...what??? a number for who?
The dealership...they need to call and get a direct fax line number to the person they speak to so they can fax over the original paperwork
uummmm let me get this straight. - it's 4pm on Friday, you want me to drive 20 minutes to get a piece of paper you already have according to the notes on my file, have it faxed to you by people that have much better things to do than worry about a car that was a piece of crap to begin with and we'll keep in mind that it is FRIDAY EVENING...how late is this mysterious office open?
Hold on I can get that info for you!!
*he sounded so happy to be FINALLY doing something that might help the situation"
I hear him hhhmmm....uuummm....sounds like thinking going on...
uuummm Ma'am? They don't list their hours here
Mike? you work for GMAC right?
yes Ma'am.
And YOU can't find out when the other parts of your own company are around?
No Ma'am...
AH HA!! NOW you know what I'm going through
he started laughing at that one and apologized profusely for the crap I seem to be going through, that he'd never heard of anyone having these issues

This is what it's like to try to deal with GM....
American Business at it's best wouldn't you say?
Does it surprise you at all? Nope, me either.

I'll post about the Dealership later....time to go be productive

No comments: